The Journey into Music Photography

I always knew that music would be a big part of my life since the age of 3. I’ve always wanted to be part of the music scene, wether its performing on stage or learning an instrument, anything! I’m passionate about music and study the classical piano with Trinity College in Dubai. This has led me on a journey towards music photography – everything from musicians and bands to music concerts.

I remember going to Dubai Desert Rock Festival in 2009 when I was 13. Bands such as Motörhead, Arch Enemy, Opeth, Chamira, August Burns Red, Nervecell, Scarab and Hatred performed. My dad lent me his camera to take a few snaps at the concert. They turned out surprisingly well and the ides grew from there.

August Burns Redd at the Dubai Desert Rock Festival in 2009

August Burns Redd

Hands

Opeth at the Dubai Desert Rock Festival in 2009

Opeth

During the summer of 2014, I visited my aunt and uncle in the USA and they took me with them to music festivals and concerts. Just off the plane and jet lagged still I went to two concerts with them.

One of my favourite bands, Fall Out Boy were touring with Paramore and New Politics. I was lucky enough to see them perform and take a few photos at the performance.

Fall Out Boy on the Monumentour

Fall Out Boy

Fall Out Boy

The Vans Warped Tour was next on the list and I got to see bands such as Mayday Parade, We The Kings, Yellowcard, Falling In Reverse, Echosmith, Crown The Empire and a lot more! I also had the chance to meet one of my favourite YouTubers called Damon Fizzy.

Dave Escamilla from Crown The Empire at the Vans Warped Tour in 2014

IMG_8862

IMG_8860

IMG_8842

IMG_8839

Echosmith at the Vans Warped Tour in 2014

IMG_8838

Damon Fizzy at the Vans Warped Tour in 2014

photo

IMG_9090

IMG_9047

IMG_8930

Peach Festival in Scranton Pennsylvania was one of my musical highlights of my time in the USA. I saw a lot of talented musicians, interesting characters and met a bunch new friends along the way. A camera has a way of allowing you in where people would either not be open to you in their group, or I would be too shy to approach them.  Making friends with security guards is always a good thing. They are so used to being harassed but in reality they can give you access to so much if you just take the time to befriend them and show an interest. Some of them are really nice guys! One such security guard allowed me to go right up to the stage to take some photos of the bands that were playing. I even met The Allman Brothers Band manager and spoke to him about photography.

Music Venue

IMG_1827

IMG_1664

IMG_1837

IMG_1674

IMG_1649

IMG_1699

IMG_1834

IMG_1832

The Soul Rebels at the Peach Festival

Soul Rebels

Soul Rebels

Soul Rebels

Soul Rebels

The Allman Brothers at the Peach Festival

Warren Haynes

Greg Allman

Greg Allman

I even got to visit a music venue in Baltimore called the 8X10 where I saw John Kadleick and another band which had never performed together before. They did an amazing job!

Jordan August

Jordan August

Jordan August

Jordan August

Jordan August

Musician

Jordan August

I love being a part of the music scene, being around music, musicians, sound engineers and all the interesting gear. After many years of listening to music and going to music events, and playing around with cameras since the age of 9, I have no idea how to get into this professionally. Sending emails to events managers don’t seem to work. They never reply, which is very frustrating and a little disheartening, but I have no intention of giving up. I want to shoot as many events and festivals as I possibly can to gain experience. I want to make my presence known through my work, which is going to take a lot of hard work, disappointments and knocking on doors. I look forward to the journey and the challenge!

Leave a Reply

